top of page

United Nations
Security Council

Topic 1 :

Addressing Reforms for the United Nations Security Council

Topic 2 :

Addressing the Establishment of a Framework for the Resolution

of Interstate Conflicts

… its Members confer on the Security Council primary responsibility for the

maintenance of international peace and security…

                                                           — Article 24(1) of the Charter of the United Nations

Established on the 24th of October, 1945 by the Charter following the end of the Second World War, the United Nations Security Council serves to maintain international peace and security. It is the highest decision-making body in the United Nations, serving as the only authority capable of using force and issuing binding resolutions to counteract threats to international peace and security. 

The Security Council consists of 5 permanent members (known as “the P5”), namely China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States. These countries also possess veto power, capable of rejecting all forms of substantive resolutions. The remaining ten are elected by the General Assembly for two-year terms at staggered intervals. Members of the Security Council are perpetually ready to convene year-round, having a representative stationed at the headquarters of the United Nations at all times for emergency meetings. Since its formation, its various members have voted to pass over 2500 resolutions, surrounding a myriad of global concerns.

In addition to its binding nature, the Security Council is also authorized to deploy peacekeepers where armed conflicts have ceased. The United Nations itself does not maintain its own military; member nations provide troops voluntarily. 

President :
To be decided.
Vice President :
To be decided.

bottom of page